replay highlights watch live racing replay highlights replay highlights

The Equus Awards organising committee have begun in earnest with preparations for the Sport of South African Horseracing’s premier awards

Venue: Convention Centre, Emperors Palace.

Date: Tuesday 15 August 2017

All the categories have been finalised and the voting panel is as follows:

Andrew Harrison                                              Matthew Lips

Jason Dedekind                                               Roger Smith

Michael Clower                                                Larry Wainstein (non-voting Chairperson)

The above panel will be submitting their first round of nominations directly after VDJ day and the final decisions will be taken after the Gold Cup racemeeting on 29 July. We wish our racing experts well in these deliberations. Good luck gentlemen!


Champion 2 year old colt - distance immaterial

Champion 2 year old filly – distance immaterial

Champion 3 year old colt – distance immaterial

Champion 3 year old filly – distance immaterial

Champion older male – distance immaterial

Champion older filly/mare – distance immaterial

Champion sprinter – (1000 – 1200m; age/gender immaterial)

Champion miler – (1400 – 1600; age/gender immaterial)

Champion middle distance – (1800 – 2200; age/gender immaterial)

Champion stayer – (2400 and up; age/gender immaterial)

Voting Criteria

The awards will be based on graded races and in particular Grade 1 races. As regards the stayer category, the winning stayer will be at the discretion of the voting panel. This decision was taken as the only Grade 1 race in SA is the SA Derby which would mean that this should be the obvious winner based on a single run. This would also have excluded fillies/mares.

Breeder Awards:

  • Stallion of the year
  • Broodmare of the year
  • Breeder of the year

The Thoroughbred Breeders Association may include outstanding and/or international achievement awards.

Individual Awards:

  • Champion Apprentice
  • Champion Jockey
  • Champion Owner (based on stakes earned)
  • Champion Trainer (based on stakes earned)
  • Industry Merit Award

Horse of the Year Award

Clyde Basel and Graeme Hawkins will be the Masters of Ceremonies for the event and guests will be treated to an array of entertainment on the evening.  There will also be an after party at the same venue.

Any further enquiries about the 2017 Equus Awards ceremony can be directed to:

Penny Broodryk: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Larry Wainstein


Equus Committee

4 July 2017

content end