replay highlights watch live racing replay highlights replay highlights

The Racing Association is celebrating its 20th birthday this year.   The role of the Association has grown significantly over the years and we are proud of the achievements of directors and staff, past and present. We look forward to exciting times ahead and take this opportunity to thank our partners in racing for their contribution to our fantastic sport.

The following are the nominations in the equine categories:

Champion 2 year old filly:-

Daring Diva ; Green Plains

Champion 2 year old colt/gelding:-

Barrack Street ; Mustaaqeem (Aus)

Champion 3 year old filly:-

Orchid Island ; Smiling Blue Eyes ; Wind Chill

Champion 3 year old colt/gelding:-         

Al Sahem ; Heavenly Blue (Aus) ; Janoobi

Champion Older Horse:-                           

Deo Juvente ; Legal Eagle ; Master Sabina ; Nother Russia; Rafeef (Aus)

Champion Sprinter:-                                    

Rafeef (Aus) ; Trip To Heaven

Champion Middle Distance Horse:-        

Deo Juvente ; Legal Eagle ; Master Sabina ; Nother Russia

Champion Stayer:-                                      

Al Sahem ; Fortissima ; Hermoso Mundo ; Wind Chill


All of the nominees are eligible for the Horse of the Season Award.

The judges’ panel comprised Clyde Basel, Vidrik Thurling, Robert Garner with Vee Moodley as the non voting Chairman.

The human awards which will be based on a points system will be presented to:

Work Rider of the season

Champion Apprentice

Champion breeder of the season

Champion jockey of the season

Champion trainer of the season

Champion owner of the season                               

The Awards dinner will take place at Emperors Palace on Tuesday 30 May 2017. A limited number of tickets are available for sale to the public.

For enquiries please contact Merle Parker or Penny Broodryk at the Racing Association during office hours on (011) 683-3220.

content end